Lost you forever by Tong Hua

Xiang Liu
“My arms are always open for you to hide in”

In the original context Tong Hua’s Sequel on Once Promised, it is read as

长相思 or  Eternally Yearning For You

but I guess they decided to give us English readers Lost you Forever as its English translation. I’m not quite sure why but I’m still good about it.

When I started reading Lost You Forever by Tong Hua  Here

I was quite hesitant ,you see, its prequel Once Promised (It’s the story of our heroines parents) has a sad ending. I braved up to read their story despite the translators warning about its ending and after reading the last page I was staring at my computer for a long time trying to comprehend what just happened and how unfair the world is.

I was like

WHAT THE HELL??

NO!!!!

Seriously??!!!

Finally I got myself together and accepted it, reality would hit you like a boulder. We can not get what we always want and learn to be contented and accept what we have. (Huh)

Then I heard there was a sequel this time it was their child destiny, I was like Huh, okay lets give this a try.So I started mentally preparing myself with Kleenex on my side I click to koalas blog.When I was done until on the latest translation (chapter 39) , I am happy to say at the moments I am very satisfied on whats happening. and Oh by the way How you feel about the ending depends on who you ship 🙂

This the summary I got from the shusheng bar.

Life is the encounter and separation, is the starting time and oblivion, but there are always things that once happened, will leave traces, and always have a person, once appeared, will not be forgettable.

The fated meeting at the town of Qing Shui  has changed the destiny of everyone, even change the destiny of Da Huang. The desire for a little warmth, a little of company, at some point decided a shattered heart. It is similar to a cup of poisoned wine, when it gets to the throat, it becomes sweet, melting hearts broken bone, and until it reaches the heart and lungs, no medicine can cure. The poison is discovered  and it  is  paralyzing the heart and lungs. Only the smile of one’s beloved can eliminate it.  If  it can’t, the only thing left is the engraving of missing. It won’t stop even after death.

If everything is destined, when Xiao Yao and Du Shan Jing meet, they are fated to be parted one day, fated they cannot love, and also cannot forget. Although they can’t hold on to one another, at least to make themselves be unforgettable, bury everything deeply inside the heart. That gentle imprint will forever be indelible.


Onesecondspring describes the three male leads so accurately, she called them the holy trinity. (The brother, The Husband and The Lover)

Here Here

This is quite biased but I am a Xiang Liu fan (The lover) 🙂 Pretty much he is our female lead’s soul mate, how he would help her from the shadows, be their for her in her lowest moments.In the story you can sense that they have a connection but because of their responsibilities , his responsibilities he choose to be beside her, without telling her how he feels, or acknowledging what is between them. (A selfless love I say ).He isn’t just a typical lead  He made her stand up on her own as if saying

You have to defend yourself when I am not there for you anymore. 🙂

Honestly , other than him the other leads are just a blah blah blah to me. I do not mean offend anyone but this is what I feel.

Zhuan Xu, the brother, is your typical second lead. A loving brother turned ambitious. And  that usually leads to conflict with the female lead. Choosing between her and that ambition. Even if you had that ambition because of her.

Jing, the ever loving husband. There really nothing to comment about him. He is the perfect package. Its like fervently wishing for that someone perfectly melded  for you to arrive at your doostep and the heavens just goes like “Here you go, have him”. There really nothing wrong about him, he just didn’t click with me as much as Xiang Liu did.

 

Side note: Its funny really when Onesecondspring mention this ( Secret golden rule of c-novels “If you want to be the emperor, you will lose the girl”)  the first thing that came to my mind was a Bl novel called Cold Sands (Beyond the Frore Dunes) by Mu Yun Lan Qing. As of a novel that defied this rule (The ones that I’ve read) I’d go with: A Lonesome Fragrance Waiting to be Appreciated (Gu Fang Bu Zi Shang) by Feng Nong

 

Enjoy reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

